Academy of Outstanding Teachers Award and Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award

Academy of Outstanding Teachers Award and Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award

In 1988, The College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) instituted the Academy of Outstanding Teachers and the Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award to recognize excellence in teaching.


All full-time, retired and emeriti faculty who have taught in CAS for at least two full years are eligible. Persons nominated may have been an instructor in a lecture class or seminar at any level, a lab instructor or director of independent study or an academic advisor or mentor. Normally those appointed to the Academy of Outstanding Teachers are currently active faculty members in CAS, however under extraordinary circumstances, retired or emeriti faculty may be appointed.


Appointees to the Academy of Outstanding Teachers and the Outstanding Teacher of the Year the will receive a medallion and certificate presented at the fall CAS Awards Luncheon. In addition, the Outstanding Teacher of the Year will receive up to $1,000 in supplemental pay (subject to deduction of all pertinent taxes).


All faculty, staff and alumni are eligible to submit nominations. Any Appalachian State University student may submit a nomination as long as they are not currently enrolled in the nominee's class. 

Nomination Process

To nominate a faculty member for this award, please complete the nomination form to submit it to the CAS Selection Committee. Nominations should describe how the nominee has displayed the following:

  • Ability to impart knowledge, inquisitiveness and the desire for continued learning
  • Competence and command of the subject matter
  • Concern for students' intellectual growth and personal development
  • Enthusiasm for the subject matter and for teaching it

Selection of Awardee

The Outstanding Teacher/Academy Award Committee reviews the applications and makes a recommendation to the Dean of CAS. The Committee is composed of the three most recent Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award recipients and two CAS alumni. The most recent award recipient serves as Chair. The Committee selects up to four faculty members for appointment to the Academy of Outstanding Teachers as well as one Academy member for recognition as The College of Arts and Sciences Outstanding Teacher of the Year. All letters of nomination are kept on file and eligible for up to five years. Each letter of nomination will be given to the nominee after it has been in the committee files for five years, whether or not the nominee has received the award.

2024 Nomination Form

2024 Nomination Form

To nominate a faculty or staff member for this award, please complete the 2024 CAS Faculty & Staff Award Nomination Form between Monday, August 12, 2024, and Monday, August 30, 2024. The Committee typically begins review of nominations at the beginning of the fall semester.

Previous Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

  • Elizabeth Shay (2022-23)
  • Kara Dempsey (2021-22)
  • Deborah Crocker (2020-21)
  • Cindy Norris (2019-20)
  • Ellen Lamont (2018-19)
  • Germán Campos-Muñoz (2017-18)
  • Cynthia Liutkus-Pierce (2016-17)
  • Elicka Sparks (2015-16)
  • Joseph Pollock (2014-15)
  • Andrew Ferguson (2013-14)
  • Alice McRae (2012-13)
  • Ted Zerucha (2011-12)
  • Sarah Greenwald (2010-11)
  • Cameron Lippard (2009-10)
  • Kim Hall (2008-09)
  • Rodney Duke (2007-08)
  • Sheila Phipps (2006-07)
  • Douglas Waring (2005-06)
  • Mary Connell (2004-05)
  • Cinthia Pratt (2003-04)
  • Alan Hauser (2002-03)
  • Doris Bazzini (2001-02)
  • Ray Ruble (2000-01)
  • Delores Parks (1999-2000)
  • Zohara Boyd (1998-99)
  • Fred Webb (1997-98)
  • Anita Kitchens (1996-17)
  • Thomas McGowan (1995-96)
  • Richard Henson (1994-95)
  • Peggy Hartley (1993-94)
  • Jay Wentworth (1992-93)
  • George Miles (1991-92)
  • Rennie Brantz (1990-91)
  • Loren Raymond (1989-90)

Previous Academy of Outstanding Teachers Award Recipients

  • Adrienne Erazo (LLC)
  • Alan Hauser (PR)
  • Alice McRae (CS)
  • Allison Fredette (HIS)
  • Anatoly Isaenko (HIS)
  • Andrew B. Heckert (GES)
  • Andrew Ferguson (SOC)
  • Anita Kitchens (MAT)
  • Anthony Calamai (PA)
  • B.J. Yoblinksi (CFS)
  • Barbara Zaitzow (GJS)
  • Başak Çandar (ENG)
  • Beverly Moser (LLC)
  • Brad Nash (SOC)
  • Cameron Lippard (SOC)
  • Carol Babyak (CFS)
  • Cassandra Eagle (CFS)
  • Cindy Norris (CS)
  • Cinthia Pratt (SOC)
  • Claire Olander (CFS)
  • Conrad Ostwalt (PR)
  • Craig Fischer (ENG)
  • Curtis Ryan (GJS)
  • Cynthia Liukus-Pierce (GES)
  • Dale Wheeler (CFS)
  • Dana Powell (ANT)
  • David Orvis (ENG)
  • David Sutton (GJS)
  • Deborah Crocker (MAT)
  • Dolores Parks (CS)
  • Donna Lillian (ENG)
  • Doris Bazzini (PSY)
  • Douglas Waring (PSY)
  • Edelma Huntley (ENG)
  • Edward Allen (GJS)
  • Elaine O'Quinn (ENG)
  • Elicka Peterson-Sparks (GJS)
  • Elizabeth Shay (GHY)
  • Ellen Cowan (GES)
  • Ellen Key (GJS)
  • Ellen Lamont (SOC)
  • Emory Maiden (ENG)
  • Eugene Miller (ENG)
  • Fred Webb (GES)
  • Gabriele Casale (GES)
  • George Miles (CFS)
  • Georgia Rhoades (ENG)
  • Germán Campos-Muñoz (ENG)
  • Heather Custer (ENG)
  • Janice Rienerth (SOC)
  • Jay Wentworth (IDS)
  • Jeff Boyer (ANT)
  • Jeff Holcomb (GJS)
  • Jeffrey Bortz (HIS)
  • John Bond (BIO)
  • Johnnie Lotesta (SOC)
  • Joseph Gonzalez (IDS)
  • Joseph Pollock (PA)
  • Kara Dempsey (GHY)
  • Karl Campbell (HIS)
  • Karl Mamola (PA)
  • Kenneth Jacker (CS)
  • Kenneth Shull (BIO)
  • Kenneth Steele (PSY)
  • Kevin Kennedy (LLC)
  • Kim Hall (PR)
  • Laura Ammon (PR)
  • Leslie Gerber (IDS)
  • Loren Raymond (GES)
  • Maksoud Feghali (LLC)
  • Marian Williams (GJS)
  • Mark Venable (BIO)
  • Mary Ballard (PSY)
  • Mary Connell (BIO)
  • Maryam Ahmed (BIO)
  • Matt Williamson (GJS)
  • Matthew Rowe (BIO)
  • Michael Dale (IDS)
  • Michael Ramey (CFS)
  • Myra Pennell (HIS)
  • Neal Lineback (GHY)
  • Pablo Chialvo (BIO)
  • Patricia Beaver (ANT)
  • Peggy Hartley (LLC)
  • Peter Petschauer (HIS)
  • Raymond Ruble (PR)
  • Rennie Brantz (HIS)
  • Richard Carp (IDS)
  • Richard Henson (BIO)
  • Richard McGarry (LLC)
  • Rick Elmore (PR)
  • Rodney Duke (PSY)
  • Roger Stilling (ENG)
  • Ruth Ann Strickland (GJS)
  • Sandra Gagnon (PSY)
  • Sarah Carmichael (GES)
  • Sarah Greenwald (MAT)
  • Scott Jessee (HIS)
  • Shawn Bergman (PSY)
  • Sheila Phipps (HIS)
  • Sushmita Chatterjee (IDS)
  • Tammy Wahpeconiah (ENG)
  • Ted Zerucha (BIO)
  • Theresa Early (MAT)
  • Thomas McGowan (ENG)
  • Tim Silver (HIS)
  • Timothy Ludwig (PSY)
  • Timothy Smith (ANT)
  • Tom McLaughlin (ENG)
  • Victoria Cox (PR)
  • Wilber Ward (ENG)
  • William Griffin (LLC)
  • William Imperatore (GHY)
  • William McGalliard (MAT)
  • William Sprunt (MAT)
  • Winston Kinsey (HIS)
  • Zohara Boyd (ENG)