Jimmy Smith Outstanding Service Award

Jimmy Smith Outstanding Service Award

In 2003, The College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) established the Jimmy Smith Outstanding Service Award in recognition of the numerous contributions of Dr. Jimmy Smith, a professor in the Department of Mathematics from 1968–2000. The award honors the faculty member who has demonstrated meaningful and significant service to the College, the University and/or the faculty member's profession.


Full-time faculty (including emerita) with at least five full academic years of employment in CAS.


The award will carry the following recognition:

  • Up to $1,000 to apply toward research or teaching equipment and supplies and/or research-related travel expenses. (All equipment remains the property of Appalachian State University)
  • Medallion and certificate presented at the fall CAS Awards Luncheon


All faculty, as well as outside experts in the academic discipline, are eligible to submit nominations.

Nomination/Application Process

To nominate a faculty member for this award, please complete the nomination form to submit it to the CAS Selection Committee. Nominations should describe the meaningful and significant effects of the nominee's service to the College, the University, and/or the faculty member's profession over multiple years including examples of demonstrated leadership and initiative.

Once nominated, CAS will contact the nominee for additional materials including:

  • A cover letter that describes how the nominee feels he/she is deserving of the award, with particular emphasis on service and leadership accomplishments and their impact.
  • An updated curriculum vita that emphasizes service and leadership activities.
  • Two letters of support (internal or external).

Selection of Awardee

The Jimmy Smith Service Award Committee reviews the applications and makes a recommendation to the Dean of CAS. The Committee is composed of the most recent recipient and three CAS faculty members. At least one member is chosen from each of the following areas: mathematics/natural sciences, social sciences and humanities.

2024 Nomination Form

2024 Nomination Form

To nominate a faculty or staff member for this award, please complete the 2024 CAS Faculty & Staff Award Nomination Form between Monday, August 12, 2024, and Monday, August 30, 2024. The Committee typically begins review of nominations at the beginning of the fall semester.

Previous Award Winners

  • Sandie Gravett (2022-23)
  • Zach Murrell (2021-22)
  • Martha McCaughey (2020-21)
  • Micheal Behrent (2019-20)
  • Jill Ehnenn (2018-19)
  • Timothy J. Smith (2017-18)
  • Cynthia Liutkus-Pierce (2016-17)
  • Eric Marland (2015-16)
  • James Denniston (2014-15)
  • Amy Dellinger Page (2013-14)
  • James Young (2012-13)
  • Kathleen Simon (2011-12)
  • Pamela Kidder-Ashley (2010-11)
  • Kim Hall (2009-10)
  • Marvin Hoffman (2008-09)
  • Neva Specht (2007-08)
  • Bill Bauldry (2006-07)
  • Alan Hauser (2005-06)
  • Rennie Brantz (2004-05)
  • Holly Hirst (2003-04)