Donald W. Sink Family Outstanding Scholar Award

Donald W. Sink Family Outstanding Scholar Award

In 1994, The College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) established an Outstanding Scholar Award. In May 1998, it was renamed the Donald W. Sink Outstanding Scholar Award. Dr. Sink served as the Dean of the College from 1991 to 1998 and was a professor in the Department of Chemistry. The award honors the tenured faculty member in CAS who has made outstanding scholarly contributions throughout his/her career.


Outstanding tenured faculty (including emerita) with at least two full years of employment in CAS and a history of excellence in research, scholarship and contributions to the faculty member's academic field. Nominees must have assumed a standard teaching and service load for the majority of their careers.


The award will carry the following recognition:

  • Up to $1,000 to apply toward research endeavors including research-related travel (All equipment remains the property of Appalachian State University)
  • Medallion and certificate presented at the fall CAS Awards Luncheon


All faculty, as well as outside experts in the academic discipline, are eligible to submit nominations.

Nomination/Application Process

To nominate a faculty member for this award, please complete the nomination form. Nominations should describe the accomplishments of the nominee that demonstrate scholarly excellence in the discipline over the course of his/her career. In particular, reference should be made to the impact of the nominee's contributions to his/her academic field and/or the community of scholars at Appalachian.

Once nominated, CAS will contact the nominee for additional materials including:

  • A cover letter describing how the nominee feels he/she is deserving of the award, discussing career accomplishments and the impact of scholarly contributions to the discipline in a language understandable to colleagues from a wide array of disciplines.
  • An updated curriculum vita emphasizing contributions made to his/her discipline.
  • Two examples of primary scholarly products.
  • Two letters of support (internal or external).

Selection of Awardee

The Sink Award Committee reviews the applications and makes a recommendation to the Dean of CAS. The Committee consists of five members of CAS faculty. At least one member is chosen from each of the following areas: mathematics/natural sciences, social sciences and humanities.

2024 Nomination Form

2024 Nomination Form

To nominate a faculty or staff member for this award, please complete the 2024 CAS Faculty & Staff Award Nomination Form between Monday, August 12, 2024, and Monday, August 30, 2024. The Committee typically begins review of nominations at the beginning of the fall semester.

Previous Award Winners

  • Jill Ehnenn (2022-23)
  • Nancy Love (2021-22)
  • Joseph Bathanti (2020-21)
  • Suzanna Bräuer (2019-20)
  • Lynn Siefferman (2018-19)
  • Richard Gray (2017-18)
  • Kim Hall (2016-17)
  • Jari Eloranta (2015-16)
  • Andrew Heckert (2014-15)
  • Martha McCaughey (2013-14)
  • Michael Krenn (2012-13)
  • Howard Neufeld (2011-12)
  • Robert Creed (2010-11)
  • Cheryl Claassen (2009-10)
  • Michael Wade (2008-09)
  • Thomas McLaughlin (2007-08)
  • Matthew Robinson (2006-07)
  • William Hutchins (2005-06)
  • Alan Hauser (2004-05)
  • Tim Silver (2003-04)
  • William Brewer (2002-03)
  • James Winders (2001-02)
  • Jeffrey Bortz (2000-01)
  • Peter Soulé (1999-2000)
  • Ellen Cowan (1998-99)
  • Joel Thompson (1997-98)
  • Susan Keefe (1996-97)
  • Edwin T. Arnold (1995-96)
  • Frank McKinney (1994-95)