Outstanding Staff Award

Outstanding Staff Award

The Outstanding Staff Award was established in 2014 to recognize the importance of services provided by staff members serving students and faculty in The College of Arts and Sciences (CAS). The award honors one staff member each year who has demonstrated concern for the well-being of students and faculty, enthusiasm for their service, exemplary work and regularly surpasses job expectations.


Current full-time SPA or EPA Non-Faculty employees in CAS who have worked at Appalachian State University for at least one full year.


The award will carry the following recognition:

  • Up to $500 in supplemental pay (subject to deduction of all pertinent taxes)
  • A plaque recognizing their accomplishment presented at the fall CAS Awards Luncheon


All faculty, staff, students and alumni are eligible to submit nominations.

Nomination Process

To nominate a faculty member for this award, please complete the nomination form to submit it to the CAS Selection Committee. Nominations should describe why the nominee is deserving of the award based on the following criteria:

  • Concern for the well-being of students and faculty
  • Enthusiasm for their service
  • Exemplary work
  • Regularly surpasses job expectations

Selection of Awardee

The Outstanding Staff Award Committee reviews the nominations and makes a recommendation to the Dean of CAS. All letters of nomination are kept on file and eligible for up to five years. The Committee is composed of four CAS staff members including the three most recent recipients of the award.

Procedures and Deadlines

The deadline for 2022 nominations was Tuesday, September 6th. The Committee typically begins reviw of nominations at the beginning of the fall semester.

Previous Award Winners

  • Diana Nelson (2021-22)
  • Monique Eckerd (2020-21)
  • Jenna Valley (2019-20)
  • Lauri Miller (2018-19)
  • Sandy Hicks (2017-18)
  • Anthony Love (2016-17)
  • Cindy Day (2015-16)
  • Katy Dewhirst (2014-15)
  • Darryl Cook (2013-14)
  • Ruth Cook (2012-13)