Origin of the Morgan Science Lecture Series 

G. William (Bill) Morgan was born in the Gilkey Township of Rutherford County, N.C. Morgan graduated from Central High School in Rutherfordton, N.C. and went on to graduate from Appalachian State Teachers College (now Appalachian State University) in 1934 with a B.S. degree in science and physical education.

In 1941, he received the M.S. Degree in biology and chemistry from George Peabody College for Teachers (now affiliated with Vanderbilt University, Nashville, T.N.). He received additional training in nuclear physics, health physics and related sciences at the Oak Ridge National Laboratories (T.N.) and at Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies. He studied further at Columbia University (N.Y.) and consulted there with Dr. G. Fiella, who had personally trained under Madam Curie.

In 1980 Morgan received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Appalachian State University, and in 1983, he was awarded the Honorary Doctor of Science degree by the University.

Morgan worked as a high school science teacher and athletics coach, managed a restaurant for one year and volunteered for the U.S. Army, before he began employment as a health physicist at the Clinton Laboratories (now Oak Ridge National Laboratories). There he was responsible for the nuclear reactor, radioisotope separations and the processing plant.

Morgan served as Chief of the Advisory Field Service Branch of the Manhattan Project, later called the Radiological Safety Branch, Isotopes Division, United States Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Morgan was the original author of the Commission’s basic regulation: “Standard for the protection Against Radiation” (10 CFR Part 20). Morgan went on to serve as head of this organization whose mission was to encourage states to develop programs and assume responsibilities provided for by the 1959 amendment to the Atomic Energy Act.

After his passing, Morgan willed $100,000 to Appalachian State University for the purpose of holding symposia and having papers read or presented at the university in the sciences. This contribution funds the Morgan Science Lecture series today.

Morgan Science Lecture Series Committee:

The departments involved with the series include Biology, Chemistry and Fermentation Sciences, Geological and Environmental Sciences and Physics and Astronomy. Each year, the committee rotates chairs based on which department is hosting the lecture series, and committee members will serve for up to three years. Current committee members include: