Awards and Honors

Senior Rhiannon Reed-Kelly, double majoring in Community and Regional Planning and Geography, with a minor in Sustainable Development pictured in Budapest, spring 2018. Photo submitted.

Rhiannon Reed-Kelly: Planning for positive impact in the future
Oct 28, 2019

Each year, the North Carolina Chapter of the American Planning Association (APA-NC) bestows the Marvin Collins Outstanding Planning Awards on communit...

Dr. Holly Hirst, Department of Mathematical Sciences and Dr. Timothy Smith, Department of Anthropology recognized for excellence in teaching 2018-19. Photos by University Communications.

7 App State faculty members recognized for teaching excellence
Oct 25, 2019

Appalachian State University recognized seven faculty members for excellence in teaching during its Fall 2019 Faculty and Staff Meeting held Friday, S...

Dr. Sarah J. Greenwald, professor in Appalachian’s Department of Mathematical Sciences. She has been named among the 2020 class of Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) Fellows. The AWM Fellows Program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to the support and advancement of women in the mathematical sciences. Photo submitted

Dr. Sarah J. Greenwald named among 2020 Association for Women in Mathematics Fellows
Oct 24, 2019

The Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) has named Dr. Sarah J. Greenwald, professor in Appalachian State University’s Department of Math...

CAS Faculty and Staff Award Winners 2018-19 (L to R): Amanda Howell (CFS), Marta Toran (GES), Ellen Lamont (SOC), Larry Bridges (CS), Lynn Siefferman (BIO), Craig Fischer (ENG), Misa Yamamoto (LLC), Joseph Gonzalez (IDS), Beverly Moser (LLC), Ellen Key (GJS), Lauri Miller (GES), Jill Ehnenn (ENG), Maggie Sugg (GHY) and Diane Mines (ANT). Photo by Ellen Gwin Burnette

CAS Faculty and Staff Awards 2018-19
Oct 24, 2019

Each year the College of Arts and Sciences hosts a luncheon to celebrate the many faculty and staff in the college and to recognize outstanding facult...

The College of Arts and Sciences at Appalachian State University has named William L. (Larry) Bridges ’75 as the Outstanding Alumni Award winner for 2018–19. Photo by University Communications.

College Outstanding Alumni Award Winner: Larry Bridges
Oct 23, 2019

William ‘Larry’ BridgesVisiting LecturerDepartment of Computer ScienceCAS Outstanding Alumni AwardAppalachian State University’s College of...

Appalachian alumnus Jonathan Kappler ’05 is the 2019 recipient of the Appalachian Alumni Association’s Young Alumni Award. Kappler serves as chief of staff to the deputy secretary for behavioral health and intellectual and developmental disabilities with the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. Photo by Marie Freeman

App State recognizes Young Alumni Award winner Jonathan Kappler ’05
Oct 21, 2019

“Appalachian was an obvious choice for me from the beginning,” said Jonathan Kappler ’05, Appalachian State University’s 2019 Young Alumni Awa...

Appalachian Police Department Capt. K.C. Mitchell, far right in back row, and Detective Tina Dunn, far left in middle row, with the 2019 graduates of the Appalachian Police Academy — part of Appalachian State University’s Appalachian Police Officer Development Program (APDP). Pictured, from front row to back row, left to right, are graduates Anthony Gibbs, of Wake Forest; Connor Malmstrom, of Concord; Brandon Southard, of Kernersville; John Sanders, of Durham; Abigail Rivera, of Durham; Haley Triplette, of

Appalachian Police Academy celebrates second graduating class
Oct 4, 2019

Fifteen recruits graduated from the Appalachian State University Police Academy in August and all passed the examination to become certified North Car...

College of Arts and Sciences graphic

New CAS Faculty and Staff Award
Sep 18, 2019

The College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Office announces a new faculty award for outstanding accomplishments in Engagement, defined as represen...

Appalachian alumna Hughlene Bostian Frank ’68, who died in May. Frank matched a National Endowment for the Humanities grant to fund Appalachian’s Visiting Writers Series, which is named in her honor. Photo by Marie Freeman

Hughlene Bostian Frank touched students’ lives through Appalachian’s Visiting Writers Series
Sep 6, 2019

Hughlene Bostian Frank ’68, the eponymous patron of Appalachian State University’s Visiting Writers Series, maintained that while she was an ...

Pictured from left to right, Appalachian seniors Raine Lo, Javon Nathaniel, Kevin Garcia Bautista and Sara Sallam are the university’s four 2019–20 recipients of the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship. They are among 912 undergraduate students from 345 colleges to receive the prestigious Gilman Scholarship and will study abroad during the 2019–20 academic year. Images submitted

4 App State undergrads receive Gilman Scholarship to study abroad in 2019–20
Aug 28, 2019

The Office of Nationally Competitive Scholarships (NCS), a division of University College at Appalachian State University, announces four Appalac...