Professors honored at Faculty & Staff Awards

BOONE - Last Tuesday, October 27, 2015, the College of Arts and Science at Appalachian State University honored exemplary faculty and staff at their annual Faculty & Staff Awards Ceremony & Reception.

The Ceremony was held in the Plemmons Student Union Solarium and was presided over by the College of Arts and Science's Dean, Anthony G. Calamai.

Each year the college celebrates those faculty which have made significant impact on the Appalachian campus through their scholarship, dedication, and service. The awards are as follows:

  • Outstanding Staff Award: Kathryn Dewhirst, Administrative Support Specialist (Government and Justice Studies)
  • William C. Strickland Outstanding Junior Faculty Award: Dr. John Paul Jameson (Psychology)
  • Donald W. Sink Family Outstanding Scholar Award: Dr. Andrew Heckert (Geology)
  • The Jimmy Smith Award: Dr. James Denniston (Psychology)
  • Non-Tenure Track Teaching Excellence Award: Brian Zimmer (Geology)
  • Teaching Academy Teacher of the Year Award: Dr. Joseph Pollock (Physics)*
  • Special Recognition: Mr. Charles (Chuck) Smith (Sustainable Development)

The College of Arts and Science faculty and staff members pride themselves on their commitment to education and strive to help students learn content information, develop critical thinking abilities, achieve mastery of oral and written communication skills, and gain the ability to integrate knowledge across academic fields.

Published: Nov 4, 2015 11:33am