Appalachian Professor elected President of North Carolina School Psychology Association

BOONE - Dr. James Deni, professor of psychology at Appalachian State University,was elected President Elect of the North Carolina School Psychology Association (NCSPA) Dr. Deni was originally elected president in 1988, and has been a member of NCSPA since 1975.

James DeniDr. Deni assumed President Elect January 1, 2016 and will become the President on January 1, 2017 for the fourth time in his 40+ years at Appalachian. Dr. Deni's training and research focuses on school psychology training and children's issues, such as: learning disabilities (SLD), multi-tiered systems of supports (MTSS), school-based mental health, and treatment integrity.

Dr. Deni will continue to co-chair the NCSPA Professional Practices committee with an emphasis on practice issues in the field of school psychology.

NCSPA logoThis is a great honor for Dr. Deni and represents the high caliber of professors holding positions at Appalachian State University. Upon his election, Dr. Deni said, "I am honored to be the President Elect of NCSPA, which I believe is the pulse and lifeline representing over 500 school psychologists working in NC Public School and Charter schools. School Psychologists provide comprehensive learning supports for children and teachers everyday in addition to meeting their social and emotional needs. We advocate for children and families every single day."

NCSPA represents over 500 school psychologists working in the public schools of North Carolina and delivers comprehensive psychological services to children in collaboration with parents, teachers, and other school personnel. The NCSPA Executive Board is made up of thirteen elected board members and committee chairs.

Published: Jan 12, 2016 3:41pm