Events

  • Friday, Nov. 24, 2017: "Arts at the Center: A History of Black Mountain College" opens at the Blowing Rock Art & History Museum (BRAHM). Exhibition closes April 7, 2018. 
  • Thursday, Nov. 30, 2017: Winter Exhibition Celebration at Blowing Rock Art & History Museum (BRAHM) with "Arts at the Center: A History of Black Mountain College" exhibition happening from 5 -  7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 12, 2018:  "Creative Democracy: The Legacy of Black Mountain College" exhibition begins at the Turchin Center. A grand opening with artists will occur on March 2 (see calendar listing below). Also, the Black Mountain College digital timeline goes live - visit the digital timeline section of our site to learn more.
  • Wednesday, Jan. 24, 2018: Speaker Cathryn Zommer, Belk Library and Information Commons, Room 114,  Appalachian State University at 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 1, 2018: BRAHM: Thursday Arts and Culture (TAC) Talk with Joseph Bathanti at 6 p.m. 

  • Thursday, Feb. 8, 2018: BRAHM: Movies at the Museum - MC Richards: The Fire Within at 6 p.m. Free for Museum Members, $5 for students with ID, seniors, active military, EBT cardholders and $7 general admission.

  • Friday, Mar. 2, 2018: Grand exhibition opening and meet the artists during the Spring Exhibition Celebration at the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts, 6 – 10 p.m. in conjunction with the Town of Boone First Friday Art Crawl.
  • Thursday, Mar. 15, 2018: Speaker David Silver at Belk Library and Information Commons, Appalachian State University, Room 114 at 7 p.m.

  • Thursday, Mar. 22, 2018: Speaker Anne Waldman will hold her craft talk at 3:30 and she will be reading at 7:30 p.m in the Table Rock Room, Plemmons Student Union, Appalachian State University. 

  • Wednesday, Mar. 28, 2018: TVCA: Speaker Julie Thomson, TCVA, Turchin Center Lecture Hall at 6 p.m.

  • Wednesday, April 4, 2018: Speaker Mary Emma Harris at the Belk Library and Information Commons, Room 114, Appalachian State University at 7 p.m.

  • Friday, April 6, 2018: Theatre Piece #1 Revisited: A Happening, coordinated by Fellows participant and Professor of Theatre & Dance, Ray Miller. The event  will take place at the Turchin Center for the visual arts from 7 - 9 p.m. 
  • Wednesday, April 11, 2018: Speaker Lucy Massie Phenix at Belk Library and Information Commons, Room 114, Appalachian State University at 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 18, 2018: TVCA: Alice Sebrell, Turchin Center Lecture Hall at 6 p.m.

  • Friday, April 27, 2018: Ruse of Medusa performance by Christina Sornito's class, fellows member of BMCS, Department of Anthropology. Refreshments begin at 6:30 pm and the performance begins at 7 p.m. in Great Hall, Living Learning Center, Appalachian State University. 

  • Thursday, May 17, 2018: TAC Talk and Jeffery Beam presents Jonathan Williams: Lord of Orchards at the Blowing Rock Art & History Museum (BRAHM) at 6 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 2, 2018: TCVA exhibition ends.
  • July 2018: Black Mountain College exhibition begins at Swannanoa Valley Museum & History Center in Black Mountain, N.C.
  • Dec. 2018: Black Mountain College exhibition ends at Swannanoa Valley Museum & History Center in Black Mountain, N.C.


To view or share a comprehensive flyer with all the BMCS speaker events, download this event flyer. (PDF 127KB)