10 first-year students receive Chancellor’s Scholarship at App State

Ten first-year students at Appalachian State University have been named Chancellor's Scholars for the 2019–20 academic year. The Chancellor’s Scholarship, which is renewable, is Appalachian’s oldest and most academically competitive merit-based scholarship.

The Chancellor’s Scholarship is awarded to the highest achieving students who have earned entry into the Honors College. The four-year program of rigorous study covers full institutional costs (tuition, fees, room and board, and book rental). Chancellor’s Scholars are provided with study abroad opportunities beginning in their first year, numerous classroom and experiential research opportunities and academic mentoring in a living–learning community.

The 2019–20 recipients of the Chancellor’s Scholarship: Lela Arruza, of Apex; Sophie Columbia, of Durham; Capability “Cape” Dickerson, of Rutherfordton; Oliver Dunkin, of Satellite Beach, Florida; Alisa Duong, of Charlotte; Samantha “Sam” Froese, of Cary; Aidan Keaveney, of Durham; Amelia Rhodes, of Winston-Salem; Gabriela “Gigi” Upchurch, of Denton, Texas and Lily Vowels, of Elizabethtown, Kentucky.
Published: Aug 8, 2019 4:03pm